This pictures says a lot to me even though it is just a snapshot of a board walk. I took this past summer when I traveled to Oahu, Hawaii. My friend Nicole and I went to visit one of our best friends who recently moved out there for 12 days. During this trip, many things c to me that fostered my transition into college. First off, I was in the airport for the first time by myself trying to figure out flight  times and where to put my luggage. At 17, traveling 6,000 miles away from home for the first time by yourself is extremely overwhelming and exciting all at the same time. We had to figure out all of our own food, hotel arrangements and transportation. This trip really gave me an insight on how to live on my own.

Prior to this trip, I thought I was well prepared to handle what I was about to encounter. I have always pictured myself as older than I am and a more mature young adult compared to my peers. However, at times I became stressed, homesick and lonely in a place I had never been to before. On our way home it was the same time hurricane Irene struck the east coast. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 12PM on Sunday, the day before we discovered out flight got canceled. Because of the backup of flights, the closest flight we could get to Boston was on Thursday. We ended up taking three planes to get to Ohio and driving 16 hours to finally be home. Never before had the phrase “home sweet home” meant so much to me.

This picture captures my improvement as a photographer, beauty I indulged in for 12 days, and my independency with me and nature. Hawaii was such a surreal place compared to my home in Boston. The atmosphere, people and culture was so shocking, the complete opposite of what I have grown accustomed to. This photo displays the great and natural beauty of Hawaii, captured  in a single shot. Also, just the boardwalk, sun and trees are showing. No signs of people are in sight, besides me taking the picture. showing how I have grown from this trip being comfortable being by myself. A transition undesirable to most people, but a journey unavoidable.

